Prehistoric Dunbeg Fort – Dingle Peninsula

so much history to be seen in Ireland

homethoughtsfromabroad626

P1010245a On the first leg of the Dingle Peninsula Drive, you come to the Dunbeg Fort which is a prehistoric site along the Dingle Bay coast.  It dates from the Iron Age, about 580 BC based on carbon dating of objects found at the site.  I didn’t have a lot of time before sundown on the day I was there…I wanted to get on to Slea Head for photos since the sun appeared to be coming out.  I figured I would take my niece there this year when we visit Ireland.  However, the fort is now closed due to damage sustained in the January storms in Ireland.  A large wall of the fort fell into the Atlantic.  However, this has been happening for centuries since there isn’t much left of what was the original structure.  I was interested in something I read the other day about how the sea level of…

View original post 73 more words

Leave a Reply

