Burma: Sailing the Myeik Archipelago

I am ready to sail away and start a new adventure who wants to join me

Alison's blog

I said goodbye to everyone in our group and moved to another hotel for the next three nights in Yangon. We had seen pretty much all the sights but I went out to see the war memorial just out of town, I revisited the Shwedagon Pagoda at night and finished with half a day of shopping and lunch at the Strand hotel.

Shwedagon Pagoda at night Shwedagon Pagoda at night

Rather than stay another night in Yangon my itinerary changed at the last minute so I flew to Kawthaung a day early. After leaving super early in case we hit rush hour and then the flight being delayed, I eventually left Yangon at 11.30am in a tiny plane heading south, stopping several times on the way. First at Dawei, then Myeik and arrived in Kawthaung at 2.45pm. I was one of three westerners arriving and I spent the evening in Kawthaung, a tiny place…

View original post 2,667 more words

Leave a Reply

